Thứ Năm, 30 tháng 12, 2010
Which smartphone has a flexible, quick calendar function?
I have a very nice Samsung Eternity, but I found two problems that have given me reason to stop using the calendar. One is the time-consuming quantity of submenus that are required (some frustratingly hidden), and the other is that the phone rings while I am teaching class.
I primarily need a very good PDA/appointment reminder that:
1. is VERY quick and easy to set appointments with
2. will wake up the calendar alarm without also allowing the phone to ring
3. has flexibility for alarms to be set for several advance times
I am not sure about the PC syncing (Windows XP), since I have never tried it, but it sounds like a useful feature. These other desires are expendable & secondary: built-in GPS (to avoid the costly AT&T subscription), wi-fi, bluetooth, long battery life/replaceable battery, good camera, etc.
After web research, I think Palm, LG, and Android might have models that are easy to use, but I am becoming confused over all the smartphone choices.
Thanks for your suggestions,
Rita
Which battery is better for a PDA?
or
lithium CR2032 battery
I'm trading out of my current PalmZ21 because it doesn't hold a charge. I have to charge it every 2-3 days even when not in use.
I'm looking at Sharp PDAs, but I want a battery that will stay for a while and I don't have to change it or charge it every week.
Which one is better to have?
Thứ Hai, 27 tháng 12, 2010
Would like to get a smartphone or a good 3 or 4 g phone
Somebody tell me what a Smartphone is. lol Thanks
Chủ Nhật, 26 tháng 12, 2010
Music Recording. HELP!
Thứ Tư, 22 tháng 12, 2010
Best Phone for Real-estate?
So what is the best phone for the job, that I could purchase relatively easily? Thanks!
Thứ Ba, 21 tháng 12, 2010
I need help with my blackberry. Please help.....?
My blackberry keep saying A media card has been inserted that contains errors. To correct the errors please use a disk error-checking utility on a computer. How do I do that Help Please.....
Blackberry Curve 8310 loss of address book contacts
Musicmatch Jukebox / Yahoo Music Juxbox - Any Simiar Player
The Music match had the capability to export to Microsoft Excel database then after, Yahoo Music Juxbox added that feature also.
I love the layout of the Musicmatch for it's layout, it's ability to
Right-Click in the play are to edit the properties of multiple tracks. The whole shebang is just nice.
Is there any player out there that is very similar to Musicmatch Jukebox? Free would be nice! (I have my key for the Juxbox upgrade).
What "nice" player would you recomend?
Missing Music Files? Possible Solution.
I look at the hard drive and it says that X amount of space is still being used. I assume it's still got to be there, but the files are ALL GONE. I can't see any of them. Too bad right? Wrong.
I notice that WMP has them in their library still. I can still access them through that and play them just fine. So where have all the songs gone? Why can't I see them? I don't know, I'm not a computer expert, but I found a way to fix it.
I selected my drive from My Computer and right clicked on it. I chose the tools option and then from there did the error checking. I let it do its magic with all the automated options clicked. A few hours later, the entire drive was restored and all files were visible. I've gone through a dozen albums and found the files still work and now have backed up all files in case the same problem arises and they are gone forever.
This may not work for everyone as some of you may have malware at work or some other problem. But I read the posts on a bunch of these forums and none of them seemed to offer answers. So I hope this helps. Tell me if it works for you guys with this problem!
HangoverGuy
Cleaning a PDA screen
I have an IPAQ onto which was attached a screen protector.
Over time I wasn't able to press any icons/sliders etc that were at the edges of the screen so I removed the screen protector which cured the problem.
However I have another problem - A glue like substance on the screen. I cannot scrape it off as this may damage the screen and I've tried a cleaning solution but that won't shift it either.
Has anyone got any suggestions as to get rid of the glue?
Thanks
Good, cheap mobile wifi device
Sciphone i68
iPhone 3GS or Blackberry 9700
Thứ Hai, 20 tháng 12, 2010
Unanswered: Upgrade Advice: HTC HD7 vs iPhone4
Hi All.
I am just about due for my upgrade and want some advice.
I am a long time HTC user but last time out opted for the iPhone 3GS as there wasnt a new HTC available at the time.
I cant decide on which handset to get next.
The advantage to me with the iPhone is that I have an iPhone dock in the car which is great, but the HTC wont work in the car.
In almost every other way the HTC seems better on paper.
Better camera, better screen, XBLA games, and I can develop for it too.
So, I want to ask what people's experiences are who have used the HD7, even better if you have used an iPhone previously.
Is the user interface nice to use? Are there better fearures on the HD7? Ones you miss? Is the camera decent (the iPhone 3Gs one was dreadful)?
Many Thanks
Allan
Thứ Tư, 15 tháng 12, 2010
How Things Have Changed
This got me thinking today, I remember watching a video with a intro to Android where it was the first real time we heard about the OS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1FJHYqE0RDg
Anyone else remember watching this and if so did you ever think it would end up where it is today with so many choices, options and versions for people to try out and having such a massive impact on the industry.
I remember watching and was not too interested, it was a nice idea but i thought it would be another Bada, mid range low selling OS...
man was i wrong!
HTC Desire Z
I just got a sim free Desire Z, and trying an Orange Sim with it (I'm currently O2 with a 9700 blackberry)
The signal seems pretty terrible when at home and at work.
But I'm not sure what I am seeing with the signal strength.
Above the send/receive arrows I currently see a ;G; is this just regular GPRS data? I have also seens a ;H; there which I am not sure what it means?
My Bold 9700 is on my desk with full bars of 3G on 02
Mr Desire Z is next to it with full bars of just ;G; on Orange
So i think it is safe to say my Orange signal isnt great at work.
Or is there some setting I dont have turned on? This is my first android device so I'm still learning, but I cant see anything else in the settings which could help.
I got get the ;3G; symbol when outside...
I keep getting a lot of errors with apps that they cannot connect and I need to retry ...
does android REQUIRE 3G for apps to work?
Sorry for the stupid question, but as I'm new to this OS.
But my blackberry would work seamlessly (just slower) if it lost a 3G connection and just used 2G.
I'm currently trying to download apps from the Market on ;G; and im getting the info and its telling me ;your item will be downloaded; but nothing is happening.
All apps I downloaded before at home was on Wifi.
Im just concerned if this is an issue with my actual orange account? or if it i just down to bad signal strength.
I'm in the centre of town which should apparently have good service but I am in a big building if that would affect it?
Sorry for waffling! But I need to decide if I am going to cancel my Orange sim and try ;3 Mobile; as they have a pretty good deal for
Android 2.2 -> 2.3 update - does it lose app information?
Has anyone performed an update from Android 2.2 to 2.3 on their devices yet? Did you have any games installed on the SD card prior to the update, and did it retain any game high scores and stuff like that?
The reason I'm asking is that I'm thinking about running the update on my htc desire, but I don't want to lose all my progress in angry birds
How do you clean your TV
Ive noticed that i can see marks from where ive cleaned the screen on my TV in the past.
Just wondering if anyone has some tips to cleaning LCD TV screens so they are perfectly clean
New TV & home cinema system advice needed
I am looking to upgrade my 19'' Orion tv with a larger and better one.
I'm not looking to spend a lot, my parents said they might chip in, but even so i would like a decent TV and htk for not much money.
I've seen a few TV's i like the look and specification of.
Basically it has to be around 32-37'' screen size, be 1080p and stubbornly must be from dsg retail, that is a must.
It would be nice to have things like bluetooth, usb, freeview hd and wi-fi but not if it raises the cost up too high.
The htk can be as basic as it likes, all it needs is hdmi, optical, 5 speakers and be decent enough, doesnt need blu-ray and to have tall back speakers.
Preferably could be the same brand as the tv, then they can link with one control.
I've seen these:
PANASONIC Viera TX-L32U10B 32; Full HD LCD TV
LG 32LH7000 32; Full HD LCD TV
LG 32LD550 32; Full HD LCD TV
SAMSUNG UE32B6000 32; Full HD LED TV
SONY Bravia KDL-32EX403U 32; Full HD LCD TV
SAMSUNG LE32B551A 32
creative zen micro and memory card
its a bit of a retro player i know.
my 8gb player wasnt big enough so i've put some music on a 4gb memory card.
my device recognises that its slotted in, but how do i include these tracks on my memory card to ;all tracks;? when i select all tracks it just plays the tracks already on the device.
Sat Nav Sub
Can anyone recommend any? I know there are pleny of reviews around but they can never match every day use by your average joe...would like it to be standalone and do traffic updates and speed cameras.
Cheers guys
Sat Nav Sub
Can anyone recommend any? I know there are pleny of reviews around but they can never match every day use by your average joe...would like it to be standalone and do traffic updates and speed cameras.
Cheers guys
Smartfone GPS advice
Hey all,
Im thinking of buying my 1st smartfone and have realised that it'll be mainly for satnav (other features used less).
DO you guys have any tips or advice on what to do and what to look for?
I know things can get a little technical as ive heard the data downloads can be expensive and there are options to pre-load maps to cut down on this.
Dont know the details though.
Any and all advice is appreciated!
Thanks
GPS on mobile for leisure activites
Hey all,
Im new here, and currently looking into using GPS on phones for leisure activities such as sports and travelling.
Any advice on the best GPS devices generally, or on mobile phones? Personally I think google maps is good, but doesn't offer any support for sports or travelling.
Also, the iphone has some good apps for sports activities, any experiences with that or do you have any other experiences with other phones or devices?
Any other experiences on using GPS as support for your leisure activities?
Id be grateful for any response or input on the topic.
;)
Thanks in advance!
Greetings from Austria.
Tina
Free Google sat-nav shakes market
Quote:
US firm Garmin fell 18% after details of Google Maps Navigation were revealed.
Dutch firm TomTom dropped 13% on when markets opened on Thursday.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8331824.stm
linky with pics.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencete....html?ITO=1490
The Moto Droid will be the first handset with the system.
Interesting!
Speed camera locations for your Sat Nav system
[Updated; Feb 2006]
It is possible to get fixed and mobile speed camera locations as POIs for most Satellite Navigation systems.
PocketGPS.co.uk Speed Camera Database
From February 2006, the database will no longer be free but the annual subscription is nominal.
Vodafone 3G Data Card to expensive. What alternative?
When I go down to BlueAnchorBay in Somerset from Oxfordshire I take my Laptop and a 3 G Data Card so that I can pick up my E-Mails.
The signal is atrocious and I can try to log on a dozen times before I get a connection and even then I can lose it.
I have just got my bill for the time I spent down there in May and it
Installing Linux?
Hi,
Does anybody know how to install linux Gnu onto Eee PC 701sd netbook?
If so can you please can you give me step by step instruction onto how can get in my netbook?
Cheers
Phill
Best mobile BB and laptop deal ?
I am looking for a mobile BB and laptop deal for my niece.
Apart from 3 the network does not matter.
I would say she will need around 3GB pm.
The laptop does not need to be a free one as long as it can cope with some word processing ,web browsing and a basic photo editing.
Any recommendations on decent deals or the best laptops to look at ?
GTA: Chinatown Wars (DS)
GTA hits the DS.
Supposedly better than it sounds.
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/gaming/a...n-wars-ds.html
Arkham Asylum PC vs PS3
OK, built a new pc with a ATI4850 last month, and got a PS3.
Want to get this game at the end of the month when I get some free time.
Should I get it on PC or PS3?
Plz vote and say why...
The Official Xbox 360 (Xbox 2) Thread
Gamespy gets the inside gossip about Xbox 2 at the Game Developers Conference.
There's some surprising stuff here such as a USB camera.
Gamespy does put in a disclaimer by saying
Quote:
Keep in mind that all of this information is based off of alpha development kits and current projections for the final hardware.
Everything is subject to change.
http://xbox.gamespy.com/xbox/microso...html?fromint=1
Quote:
The Guts of the Next Box
CPU - Xenon's CPU has three 3.0 GHz PowerPC cores.
Each core is capable of two instructions per cycle and has an L1 cache with 32 KB for data and 32 KB for instructions.
The three cores share 1 MB of L2 cache.
Alpha 2 developer kits currently have two cores instead of three.
GPU - Xenon's GPU is a generation beyond the ATI X800.
Its clock speed is 500 MHz and it supports Shader 3.0.
Developers are currently working with an alpha 2 GPU.
Beta GPU units are expected by May and the final GPU is slated for a summer release.
The final GPU will be more powerful than anything on the market today; in game terms, it would handle a game like Half-Life 2 with ease.
System Memory - Xenon will have 256 MB of system RAM.
Keep in mind that this number should not be equated to typical PC RAM.
The Xbox has 64 MB of system RAM and is a very capable machine.
Optical Drive - As many have speculated, Xenon will not use Blu-Ray or HD-DVD.
Games will come on dual-layer DVD-9 discs.
While the media is the same as that of the current Xbox, the usable space on each disc is up to 7 GB.
The drive is slated to run at 12X.
Memory Units - Xenon will use 64 MB to 1,024 MB memory cards.
8 MB is reserved for system use, leaving a 56 MB to 1,016 MB for user data.
Hard Drive - As many have speculated, Xenon's hard drive is optional.
2 GB of the drive will be used as game cache.
The final drive size is still being determined.
Camera - Xenon will have a USB 2.0 camera.
It's capable of 1.2 megapixel still shots and VGA video.
Photos can be used in-game and for gamer profiles.
The camera can also be used for video chat.
It's unknown if the Xenon camera will allow for EyeToy-like gameplay.
Developers are currently using a simulated camera driver.
Sound Chip - Xenon does not have an audio chip in the traditional sense.
Decompression is handled by hardware, while the rest of the chores are handled by software.
DirectSound3D has been dropped in favor of X3DAudio.
The former was deemed too inflexible.
Whats peoples highest score on Lumines??
Im soo pleased, last night i managed to get lumines and i cant put it down!! Well my best score is about 39000 but i was wondering what sort of standards i need to be up against :wink: Is the quickest way to get things in Lumines in challenge mode?
Lol oh and coded arms looks amazing but its a bit hard to control.
Android sat nav
Anyone using google maps beta sat nav on their android handset, what's it like, what kind of data useage does it pull ?
This app will probably be the buy / not buy app for me with regards to an android handset.
Show us your apps
Recommend your iPhone music apps.
This Day in Music
Tons of music trivia for every day of the year.
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/this-...376644365?mt=8
How many of us are using Twitter.It is getting more and more interesting and is certainly growing.I thought it would be a good idea to post up any twitter names we have or follow for when out and about
Mine is the same as my forum name
Regards
Peter
News: Nissan launches first Flash enabled app
PRESS RELEASE
Innovative Juke Power-Up app to herald new era for mobile content
LONDON, UK, 14 October 2010: Nissan today launches the world’s first Flash application for mobile phones.
The Nissan Juke Power-Up, developed by French agency Digitas’ MindTheGap R&D team, is available online so consumers with the latest Android phones can view from their internet browser, rather than downloading from an app store.
“We’re always looking at innovative ways to engage with consumers and showcase our latest range of vehicles, such as the Juke.
By working with Digitas to create the first Flash enabled app, we believe we’re shifting the boundaries of how the public can download content onto their phones and pioneering future industry development.
Indeed, this could even lead to the death of the app store,” says Gareth Dunsmore Digital Manager Europe, Nissan Europe.
Android 2.2 phone users can obtain the Juke Power-Up app by visiting www.jukepowerup.com.
The sport app accelerometer needs users to shake their phone as fast and as hard as they can, giving them intensity, adrenaline and energy levels that they can post to friends on Facebook.
“Nissan is constantly looking to innovate and produce content that fits within the changing technology demands of consumers.
We’re thrilled to have developed this application for Nissan, as we believe it shows not only how the brand is continuing to evolve but also how we will use and download mobile applications in the future,” says Julien Terraz, Creative Technologist from Digitas.
With its latest model, the Juke, launching this month, Nissan’s new campaign will underscore the brand’s track record of design-led innovation in the Crossover category.
Nissan has also recently worked with Parisian urban street artists Akrylonumerik to promote The Journey to Urbanproof campaign for the Crossover range.
Taking its inspiration from the ever-changing urban landscape we live in, the performance is a mixture of street art, new media and technology, constructing and deconstructing seven murals which come to life in successive layers, www.nissan.co.uk/urbanproof.
http://www.jukepowerup.com/
http://www.youtube.com/v/jaU4oigWWr8
They do know how many Android 2.2 devices there are out there don't they? Not forgetting they need to be running Flash too, which entry level models like the Huawei IDEOS don't.
New Guardian iPhone and iPad apps coming
New subscription iPhone app.
Will replace existing one-off payment app.
Quote:
We've already announced that the new app will have a new price point:
Thứ Ba, 14 tháng 12, 2010
Colour e-readers
Was watching Click on the BBC news channel this weekend.
They were talking about prototype colour e-reader screens and how they could revolutionise battery life for laptops, tablets and the like - days instead of hours.
The developer is arranging deals and the first devices could be in shops by next summer.
There's also self updating roll up colour emags in the works.
Sounds like some serious gadget tech on the way!!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programme...ne/8610962.stm
Help with archos 605
I have just bought a archos 605 wifi and desperately need some help with syncing it.
I am using media player to sync it, but always about half way through it will just stop for no reason, I presume this is the only way to sync the music so it gets categorised under artist and album on the archos, unless anyone knows different, as when I copied it from mac, it was just listed under 'hard drive'.
Is there actual archos software that must be easier and more stable than windows media player?
New slim UK Kindle on its way next month
Quote:
Amazon is releasing a slimmed-down Kindle e-reader with a beefed-up selection of books for the UK market.
[snip]
The device will be priced at
Anyone got an Advent Vega / POV Mobii Tegra?
Was just wondering what they were like.
There's no reviews worth mentioning.
There's a preorder on Expansys http://www.expansys.com/expansys-mob...15b2b41bef626a but no indiction of when it's due.
Also
Windows Phone 7 launches 11th Oct in UK
Leaked from 3
Note 2000 apps at launch.
If many of these are of the' popular on other platforms variety' ( seeing how much cash MSFT has been chucking at developers, it is quite likely), then MSFT could be off to a good start.
So official 'launch' on 11th October with handsets shipping a week later.
That's the way to do it
Battery monitor app for Symbian
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/news/...tor_debuts.php
Might be useful assuming it is at all accurate.
Could be essential if you're a stats junkie.
Traffic4England - Real-time Traffic and Traffic Radio App
Now available for free in the Android Market
Press Release: Traffic4England brings real-time Traffic events, Traffic flow and Live Traffic Radio from the Highways Agency for Motorways and Major A-Roads in England.
Leaps ahead of existing Traffic Apps to Best in Category.
User Guide: http://www.aquarius-solutions.net
Help/FAQ/Comments/Release notes: http://traffic4england.blogspot.com
HTC Tattoo
Just thought I'd move discussion onto a fresh dedicated thread
satsuma kindly pointed it out:
http://www.letsgomobile.org/images/n...htc-tattoo.jpg
Spec: http://www.htc.com/www/product/tatto...ification.html
Rumoured to be free on
how to get video to Google Android?
Hi, i have recently purchased a new Google Android and i would like to copy a couple of videos to it.
I am a complete novice at changing a various of video and audio parameters and therefore i'm looking for something that is easy to use.
I searched video converter in google and came up with any video converter which is free video converter software and seems very user-friendly, so i then downloaded it.
After installed it onto my PC, i found there is no specified profile for my device, that is to say, i still need to modify the video and audio settings, but i don't know which settings are the best for me.
Can anyone shed some light please?
Many Thanks.
Official Vodafone Magic (G2) Thread
Vodafone's turn this time!
Vodafone just scooped planet Earth with the first touchscreen-only Android phone: HTC's Magic.
All the specs look to line up with what was rumored, with a 3.2-inch HVGA screen front and center, HDSPA, GPS, 3.2 megapixel camera (no flash), and a G1-style trackball.
Details on pricing and availability will be unveiled for local Vodafone markets as they see fit, but pricing in Spain will be from 99 to 199 Euro, depending on contract.
Initial markets to nab the phone will be UK (due in April), Spain, Germany, France and Italy, with more countries to follow, and the phone will be a timed exclusive with Vodafone.
Crazily enough, the phone has a proprietary headphone jack, proving once and for all that HTC doesn't like you, but at least this one will ship with a touchscreen keyboard out of the gate -- it's running Cupcake.
Processor: Qualcomm MSM7201a, 528MHz.
Memory: 512MB ROM, 192MB RAM.
Dimensions: 4.45 x 2.17 x 0.45-inches.
Weight: 4.18 ounces with battery.
Network: HSPA/WCDMA 900 / 2100MHz (no love for the States) with 2Mbps up, 7.2Mbps down; quad-band GSM / GPRS / EDGE 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900MHz.
Display: 3.2-inch TFT-LCD HVGA 480x320
Connectivity: Bluetooth, WiFi, mini USB, and GPS
Input: Trackball with Enter button, Capacitive touchscreen with on-screen keyboard (both portrait and landscape)
Also it's on Vodafone's preview page now shows the android phone.
http://shop.vodafone.co.uk/shop/comi.../mobile-phones
Microsoft sues Motorola over Android
Surprised nobody has mentioned this so far.
Microsoft sues Motorola over Android
No doubt the first of many such battles - if Microsoft win this fight they'll be after the other Android makers next (though not HTC who already pay Microsoft, effectively for the right to use Android, and probably not Samsung or LG either who will both be supporting WP7).
Chances are that Motorola may be forced to do the same as HTC and pay Microsoft for Android.
Supporting Android is getting more expensive with each legal battle and hidden payments to IP holders.
Android vendors with no software IP are just pawns in a game between IP holders - rather than go after Google it's the licensee device vendors that are most often the accused, and exposed.
VPN provider suggestions?
Hello, anyone use a VPN for personal web surfing for reasons of paranoia?
Any suggestions of a good provider?
Seems a little murky...
Thanks
Computer saying limited or no connectivity
Hi Guys.
http://forums.windowsforum.org/index.php?showtopic=csegia
I have a HP Compact S5200UK Tower which I have just rebuilt as it is needing to be introduced to a peer to peer network of 6 computers at work.
I have loaded Windows XP onto this unit and now would like to update the computer via windows update in preparation for this.
After going to the HP website I found the original drivers and installed what I believed to be the correct network driver ;NVidia nForce MCP Neworking Controller;.
I now find that I cant get onto the internet and that I get the message ;this computer has limited or no connectivity which could effect your connection to other computers on the Network or with the ability to get on the net;.
The computer does not seem to be able to generate a proper IP address and seems to be given a 162 number which is a random temp number when your computer cannot connect to the DHCP Host.
I have tried to ping other computers and I cant.
I have pinged my Network card and got a reply which indicates that it is ok, and I have also checked in device manager and there does not seem to be any issues.
I have also been on the phone to ISP for numerous hours all to no avail as their is not a problem with their connection as I have a lap-top connecting via wireless which also works fine when I plug in the Ethernet.
Am now running out of ideas?????
DBow
Thứ Hai, 6 tháng 12, 2010
The end of Net Neutrality?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-11773574
It seems absurd that a government minister could advocate this.
Surely that will stifle innovation.
How can start ups compete with multinationals? It looks like pandering to the big boys and lobbyists......
laptops
is there a site where i can tick what i want (eg back light keyboard, around 14; coz my 15.6; too big, cd drive) and dont want and find my perfect laptop?
also, the last time i looked at anything laptoppy was about 18months ago, so anyone with up to date info on whats good would help.
i dont think i could get used to the ways of a macbook...
maybe...
coz closing the window bit is on the other side, and theres just one button, and always try to right click when i harrass my bros mac book and when i invade his spotify i always have to ask him how to right click to queue songs or whatever (being drunk whnever this happens doesnt help the memory)
minimum price is
Seen a computing bargain? Post it here.
Dell 720 printer.
It's lurking here somewhere.
I just ordered one for
jalou?
I quite like the jalou but can only seem to find one at O2 or at full price.
Anyone know of anywhere I can get one on contract?
Or..
should I just get the O2 payg at
C905 - copying sms from Sim card?
Just got my phone back from vodafone and looking to move the sms from the sim card back to the phone.
I can remember doin this on older handsets but it doesn't seem possible on this one....
satio - saving text messages
As I am moving off this phone, I need to save the text messages that are on it.
I can see no option of saving them to the sim and the PC suite software gives the option of saving all to one text file which is pretty useless.
I am aware of a backup and restore option on the phone but I do not think this backup would be compatible with another make of phone.
Any Ideas?
S.E W995 Issue, Any Ideas?
Hey
Ive recently had my phone repaired after it got very damaged in a asult (destroyed screen, bent slider and dented battery)
now my questions are these
1.
It will only charge up to 18% and says on the meter its still going but dosnt on Phone Status
2.
A 100% battery (when i had one for those 2 days) lasted 6-8 hours but before that it would only last 3-4 hours
3.
Bluetooth is greyed out, Phone Name and Bluetooth, i just get Currently Unavalible
4.
Used to get red light light up and stay on then 10-20 mins later it would vibrate and start chargine
5.
Alot of heat coming from under the sim reader right by the Upper speaker.
6.
There Seems To Be Somthing Draining The Power baddly
Those are my questions
this is what ive done to try and resolve them
1.
Changed battery with one from a S.E S500i, Battery No.
Volt And Serial are a exsact match
2.
A Firmware Reinstall (Advised By Customer Services)
3.
Fast Port Cleaned
4.
Tryed Charging With NO Sim or Memory Card ( Nothing Changed)
5.
Master Reset (This Shortened The Red Light To 1-2 Mins)
6.
Checked The Service Tests Via The Left Right Left left Right Trick ;)
7.
Tryed 3 Differnt Chargers
8.
Tryed Both Batterys ( Same Result Even The Dented Battery)
9.
To Try And Sort 6 I Did This, On the top part of the Main Board under the sim reader i ripped out the silver square with the 2 prongs, this made the battery life extend to the 6-8 hours, but with it out its as if its gone back to normal so i put it back in
10.
Im Attempting to charge the phone in USB as i think PIN12 is faulty (only a idea)
Any Ideas? If You need ANY more info just ask
Just a NOTE, Im very Good at S.E so if you talk about flashing and stuff i know what your on about hehe (Fixed K800i's All the Time)
Milezz
Xperia Playstation Phone
Engadget are reporting SE are finally going to launch a Playstation branded phone running Android 3.0
http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/11/e...aming-platfor/
Forgotten phone lock code
I have forgotten the phone lock code i put on my Samsung Corby (S3653).
Anyone know on how I can unlock it?
Samsung Tocco s8300. asking for code
my phone was playing up and when i sent off for repair they said it wasnt fixable.
they said it had moisture damage.
When it was returned i switched it on and it asked about a new software update, i clicked ok and then it asked for a code now.
when i switch it on a box appears looking for a code.
iv tried all the ones i can think of including 0000, 1234,9999, but nothing works,
it appears not to like any number less than a 5 also.
I cant afford to send off again does anyone have any ideas, phone is only 6 months old and was given as present and i have no retailer details anymore.
many thanks
anipani
Galaxy Q
Some places are saying its more of a blackberry form factor.
Though from what I've seen thats just guess work based on it being really thin.
New Samsung Galaxy S Handset
Apparently Samsung have been advertising the new S-Life range (or Smart-Life) of handsets and according to Engadget are expected to announce the first of the S-life handsets this week:
http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/22/s...itiatives-thi/
the rumoured Galaxy S will be Samsung's first Snapdragon based handset running on the Android OS and will also feature a Super AMOLED screen.
There's not much else known but I guess the Galaxy S will be running 2.1 and have Samsung's TouchWhizz UI.
Also I bet this handset will be on the market by Q3 or midway through Q3 rather than the long wait we've had to endure with the X10!
Nokia release a Quartet of s^3 devices
I think theres one for every taste and pocket.
NOkia C6-01
Nokia c7
Nokia E7
NOkia N8
Symbian^4 is dead
Long live Symbian.
http://conversations.nokia.com/2010/...her-for-users/
Quote:
...you can buy a Nokia smartphone confident that any improvements introduced later to the Symbian platform, such as the user interface, can be made available to download on your device as well.
No need to wait for Symbian^4
Any Questions About E7?
I have been invited along to London on Thursday as part of a very small group of people for an event with the vice president of Nokia ESeries to talk about the E7.
There is a press conference and afterwards our group gets some time to sit down and ask any questions about the E7.
Does anyone here have any questions about the E7 they would like answered?.
The obvious one of 'when it it on sale' should hopefully be known soon, maybe even announced on Thursday anyway.
Nokia unlock solution ( calc )
A new unlock calculator has been released, this unlocks multiple phones including the Nokia 6230 ( tested working myself ), download from gsmschwantz here, password is gsmztnawhcs
There is also an updated Java version here, password is the same
The New AURA
Under spec but looks a bit tastyhttp://mobileeburn.com/
Better pictures herehttp://motorola.com
Nexus Two
Engadget have run a story that the next Google handset (Nexus Two) could possibly be a Motorola handset.
Would certainly make sense I guess, with moto being at the launch of the N1.
http://www.engadget.com/2010/01/16/m...erty-keyboard/
Motorola Dext (Cliq)
Android handset just been announced, sold as the Cliq in America and Dext elsewhere
http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/US...CLIQ-US-EN.alt
http://www.androphones.com/Motorola-...-phone-53.html
Official Motorola Milestone/Droid Discussion
First pictures are starting to appear ahead of it's November US launch.
Google are said to have had a lot of input so it will be interesting to see what Motorola have done with Android 2.0
http://www.boygeniusreport.com/2009/...roid-hands-on/
Motorola Droid Pro & Citrus
Launched at CTIA last night
Droid Pro
Quote:
1GHz OMAP 3620, to be precise, with an MDM6600 chipset, 512MB of memory and 2GB of onboard storage, plus 802.11n 2.4GHz WIFI, Bluetooth 2.1 and tri-band UMTS.
There's a dual LED flash alongside that auto-focus camera, and a programmable key on the side that asks you what you want it to do the first time you press it.
There's 3G mobile hotspot support for up to five devices, and an optional 1860mAh extended battery and case, plus a desktop charger dock like those for the Droid and Droid 2 but that holds the handset vertically.
It also just so happens that the Droid Pro has the push functionality of Blur even though it isn't weighed down by the full Blur UI, and supports SD card remote wipes (and full device encryption in Q1 2011), has spellcheck integrated into the OS and a ;multi-headed; VPN client.
Had enough yet? We've got a series of screenshots below pulled directly from the device.
Also it's a world phone - so works on CDMA and GSM networks
Motorola Citrus - cheapo CDMA phone, of little interest other a couple of design points
Has the trackpad thingy on the back.
Don't know how effective this has been and don't know how many apps can actually take advantage of this?
Unanswered: How long will it take?
Bleurgh!! Hate this new 5230 compared to my e66.
Dirty dirty chav phone.
Dont know what it is in particular.
Maybe its too fat in my hand.
Maybe its because its plastic and not metal.
Maybe its cos its a nokia and the combination of symbian and touchscreen don't go well together.
Maybe is orange putting their polluting firmware on thats slowing it down.
Maybe its just touchscreens i dont like.
Everything seems to take so much longer!! I can only text at snails pace whereas before you couldn't see my fingers in a blurr.
Been texting, web browsing and doing all my usual stuff on it for 2 days now but just cant settle with it.
I like the fact the browser displays websites more true-to-life but I really miss my nav-pad.
So my question is: how long does it take to get used to a touchscreen? How quickly did you guys find you adapted? I'm really not enjoying this!
It is constantly running out of memory, it cant understand certain attachments so wont open them, and is just a bit 5hit the way it handles emails.
Is this cos my e66 was quite high end business phone with a big memory and this is a kinder egg-esque entry level smartphone? At the moment its been put back in the box in disgust and I'm back to using my e66 with the cracked pixelated screen and buttons and sides superglued back on.
How long will it take til I'm used to it??
Unanswered: HTC or Samsung?
Hi,
I have an HTC Desire, but want to buy my brother a new smartphone for Christmas.
He has an ipod touch, so gets the ipod apps, so thought with a phone with Android, he has the best of both worlds.
So...
would anyone out there recommend getting the HTC Desire HD, or the Samsung Galaxy S, or ......
would the Windows 7 phone be better?
Any experiences would be appreciated please
Thankyou.
Unanswered: Any smartphones that connect to Bluetooth car kits and work!
I own a HTC Touch2, (running Windows 6.5)
I can connect it up fine, but there is an annoying glitch!
I can make outgoing calls, answers calls, access address book etc, but ending calls in a nightmare!
What happens is that I have to end the call on the handset, and cannot end it from the handfree kit! Further, the handfree kit does not sense the ending of the call, and ;hangs; as if the call is still being made.
The only way that I can clear this is either by turning ignittion on and then off, or altertively turning the phone on and then off.
(Both a pain when on the move)
I am therfore wondering what other users have successfuly used their phone with:-
What are users exereicnces of:-
i.
Other WIndows 6.5 phones?
ii.
HTC Wilfire (Androind 2.1)
iii.
Samsung Galaxy Portal I5700 (Android)
iv.
HTC HD mini (Windows 6.5)
v.
Apple iphone 4
vi.
HTC Deisre
vii.
Samsung Galaxy S
Any other Smart phones that work well with the handfree kit!?
iPhone/iPad magazines
I see that a wave of British iPhone/iPad monthly magazines have been launched in recent months to add to the bookazines? specials that are doing the rounds.
There's Apps, Tap & iPad and iPhone user.
Is there the number of users to support them all? Have any other mobile OS brands had their own magazines in the past?
Airplay
I know I am starting an Apple thread (sorry Millhouse ) but Airplay is one thing that hasn't really been mentioned in the huge Apple event thread.
Now more news is dripping out, does anyone else feel this is going to be any good?
Seems like Apple have opened up to other manufacturers, which is far better than their original Airtunes, where you had to buy an Airport Express or ATV.
I use a B&W Zeppelin as my main speaker in the dining room (all other rooms link from it open plan) and a mini one in the bedroom.
Apparently now though, they are going to have Airplay built in, which is also now not restricted to PC/Mac iTunes, but you can stream from an iPad/iPhone.
With it also being built in to AV receivers and such, and now sending photos, music and video, I guess that as long as your stuff works with Airplay, there's little need for the new Apple TV (unless you want to rent stuff)?
Apple Live Keynote September 2010 thread
Apple are going to stream video, but only for Mac OS and iOS stuff..
Quote:
It came as a surprise to everyone tonight when Apple announced that they would be live streaming video of their September media event across the web.
The news, however, was somewhat dulled by the fact that Apple announced that the stream will only be viewable on an OS X 10.6 Mac or an iOS device (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad).
The reason for the limitation isn't entirely arbitrary, as Apple is using a new streaming technology called HTTP Live Streaming which was introduced alongside Snow Leopard's QuickTime X and iOS 3.0.
While the protocol has been proposed as a standard, so far Apple is one of a few companies who has implemented it.
As a result, the video will only be easily viewable on the specified platforms.
There seem to be some advantages to the system over existing streaming technologies.
Notably, there should be no router/firewall issues as the stream is sent over standard HTTP protocols.
If you're not sure you will be able to view stream, you can try loading this HTTP Live sample stream that Apple has provided.
For non-supported readers who are desperate to watch the stream close to live, it seems likely that you will be able to watch it -- at least in stops and starts.
The HTTP Live Stream protocol is based on very standard technologies.
The stream is simply provided in an MPEG2 playlist (m3u file) that is added to as the stream continues.
These standard playlists will load in VLC for both Mac and Windows.
VLC, for example, will play the above sample stream using this url:
http://devimages.apple.com/iphone/sa...rog_index.m3u8
VLC will load all parts of the stream into its own playlist.
It works fine for this pre-recorded stream as the entire playlist is already constructed.
The catch for tomorrow's live transmission is that VLC doesn't know that more will becoming, so it looks like you'll have to repeatedly reload the playlist manually to get the next few segments.
It's not an elegant solution, but with some persistence, it seems like it will work.
Of course, if you're not so desperate, you can watch our text coverage here, on Twitter, or wait for the official stream to be posted later in the day.
Last minute rumours include Netflix being available on the new iTV thing.
Also Fox and ABC having signed up to 99c video rentals.
One extra video for our 'white gear fetishists'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1wLf...layer_embedded
So is the Onyx definitely the Bold 9700?
I'm getting confused looking at the threads on here and then other sources on the net, so Onyx was just a code name for the phone that will shortly be released as the Bold 9700? It looks lovely, but all the sites only mention it in relation to US networks - will it also be coming out here? Possibly before Christmas...??
Sorry for a newbie post...
No alert sounds for emails??
My Curve 8520 has stopped giving me an alert sound for incoming emails despite the alert sound settings being unchanged.
I get sound alerts okay for PIN messages & SMS, just not for incoming emails.
The email app shows a visual alert (red star on app icon) but there's no sound when they arrive.
Email sound alerts definitely used to work properly on this phone.
I've tried a battery-pull with phone switched on, even re-installed the OS but no avail.
Except for this, the phone does everything it should do.
TIA for any help in fixing this.
9870 (Formerly 9700a) Rumour Thread
I want it to be real if it means that the handset gains 802.11n capability, more memory, and the ability to use webkit.
A touchscreen would also be nice, but not really necessary, and would mean that there wouldn't be much of a differentiator between that and the 9800.
I'd much rather stick with the non-slider if I could.
http://www.blackberrycool.com/2010/0...700a-for-os-6/
http://nexus404.com/Blog/2010/06/07/...ct-up-to-date/
http://www.berryreview.com/2010/06/0...-current-9700/
http://www.intomobile.com/2010/06/03...mp-camera.html
so far.
HTC Desire - MMS
I have been searching around the Internet on sites such as HTC, o2 and other mobile forums for this issue I have.
The results I have come across have all mentioned about setting up the MMS for o2 and I have found at least 2 different variations for this config.
These I have tried, some do not show the dot that needs to be selected and others that do, on trying them I either get a general network failure or the message just stays in the list with an envelope and a i in a circle.
On looking at the status of this message , it just says pending.
I am also aware of the file size limit of 300k and made sure that the pictures I send are much less than that.
Further to this, no matter what I have tried to do to add the picture, it always get sent as a slideshow.
I can connect to the mobile network with no problems and browse the internet so I know that works
Any thoughts on this?
what is this phone? used to be called the trophy, but obviously not now
this is what im waiting for, not the actual 7Trophy!
http://cellphones.techfresh.net/wp-c...smartphone.jpg
is this real or a fake?
i hope its real
HTC Glacier - first dual-core phone?
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...details-leak/1
Up to 3 times faster than an EVO 4G in some tests.
Quote:
The theory as to the device's speed is the presence of a dual-core ARM chip - the first to be used in an Android handset.
Most likely Qualcomm's dual-core 1.2GHz Snapdragon processor, the presence of two physical processing cores would explain the extremely high benchmark scores.
Up to 3 times faster than an HTC EVO 4G in some tests, however...
Quote:
Interestingly - and disappointingly for HTC if the figures truly are the result of testing on the company's next-generation handset - the scores posted are only slightly higher than the Samsung Galaxy S - which has a 1GHz Hummingbird ARM-based processor at its heart.
So unsurprisingly dual-core isn't much of a benefit unless the workload can be scheduled across both cores, which probably isn't the case for benchmarks or in fact most software targeted for mobiles.
Unless the application and more importantly the OS are multi-processor (SMP) aware, the benefit of dual-core will be minimal.
LG CEO resigns after fall in sales, and losses, made on mobile phones
http://www.zdnetasia.com/lg-ceo-resi...e-62202993.htm
Nokia should be happy that they're not doing as badly as LG is.
Unanswered: Advice 4 a smartphone newbie who wants 2 buy one.
Hi,
Having spent yesterday tralling thought the many many phone shops I'm even more confused so I'm hoping you experts can help me.
My 11 year old wants a phone (as does the wife) & none of us know much about mobiles.
We read a good review of an orange san francisco which is an android smart phone (if that means anything to any of you).
It looks like its
Unanswered: best site for selling on?
Trying to sell my Htc hero on her but not had much look so far :/
are their any other forums or sites i could sell it on apart fomr ebay and av forums?
thanks
Apple relaxes restrictions and clarifies guidelines for iOS developers
http://www.whatmobile.net/2010/09/ap...os-developers/
Quote:
The App Store? has revolutionized the way mobile applications are developed and distributed.
With over 250,000 apps and 6.5 billion downloads, the App Store has become the world’s largest mobile application platform and App Store developers have earned over one billion dollars from the sales of their apps.
We are continually trying to make the App Store even better.
We have listened to our developers and taken much of their feedback to heart.
Based on their input, today we are making some important changes to our iOS Developer Program license in sections 3.3.1, 3.3.2 and 3.3.9 to relax some restrictions we put in place earlier this year.
In particular, we are relaxing all restrictions on the development tools used to create iOS apps, as long as the resulting apps do not download any code.
This should give developers the flexibility they want, while preserving the security we need.
In addition, for the first time we are publishing the App Store Review Guidelines to help developers understand how we review submitted apps.
We hope it will make us more transparent and help our developers create even more successful apps for the App Store.
The App Store is perhaps the most important milestone in the history of mobile software.
Working together with our developers, we will continue to surprise and delight our users with innovative mobile apps.
Blackberry Torch (aka Bold 9800) official Discussion thread
Now i like the look of this !!
http://www.boygeniusreport.com/2010/...pics-leak-out/
HTC Wildfire and 2.2?
Does anybody know when Android 2.2 Froyo will be released for the HTC Wildfire?
Samsung galaxy S or HTC Desire?
Right, I about to upgrade my phone and after need to decide between a Galaxy S and a HTC Desire.
But I'm a bit stumped!
Can anyone offer any advice?
Thanks
lg gd900.......
Hi,
can anyone help, i have a new lg 900 cystal on orange contract, when i try to go online on to orangeworld, bbc sport etc i only have text format only,,,
however if i put my old o2 sim into phone and go online i dont have aproblem.
i can see pictures and ca access all sites no problem...
also if i put my orange sim into my old phone and go online , i dont have a problem with that phone either,,, is it me or is it strange and its doing my head in.
lg gt500 /505
has anyone got one? seems a great handset for the price not sure if i should get one quite tempted..
LG GW520 the replacement for the KS360?
I got the 3UK July brochure and it shows the LG GW520 which is a 3g version of the LG ks360.
It looks pretty good.
3 have no idea when this will be released, has anybody got any release dates for it?